THE DAY THE CLOWN CRIED – A Screenplay by Jerry Lewis

Published August 6, 2015 by Shadow Girl

The Day The Clown Cried (Screenplay)The Day The Clown Cried by Jerry Lewis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I didn’t know anything about The Day The Clown Cried until I read an article on IndieWire earlier today.

One of the most notorious, unreleased films ever made, Jerry Lewis’ Holocaust drama “The Day The Clown Cried” has long been the subject of rumor and speculation.

Intrigued, I searched out articles discussing the film, and why it was never released. I ran across a recording of Patton Oswalt describing how he had gotten a hold of the original script, trimmed it just a bit, and acted it out on stage in front of a very select audience. The show lasted for about three days before he was hit with a cease and desist order.
You know that just made me want to find it even more. (Have we met? I’m serious about my obsessions.)
Yay! for Google – I found the script online, and was going to skim through it – just to get a better idea of the story.
That was about two hours ago. I’ve read every word, and my heart is breaking.
I hope I don’t offend too many people by saying I can’t wait to never see this film. I cannot imagine seeing this story told with the exaggerated gags, and over the top… ‘clowning’ that it’s rumored to have. (Except when he is performing for the kids – that’s awesome.)
We’ll see how I feel in about watching it in ten years, because there is no chance of it being shown before then.

The LA Times reveals that the Library Of Congress has just received a collection of Lewis’ work from the man himself, including “The Day The Clown Cried.” But there’s one caveat: Lewis made the Library agree not to screen the movie for ten years.

View more BBB reviews

2 comments on “THE DAY THE CLOWN CRIED – A Screenplay by Jerry Lewis

    • Hey 🙂
      Here’s a link to the script online – http://www.dailyscript.com/scripts/the_day_the_clown_cried.html
      The stories just hit the news again yesterday, so things are easier to find out. There is a random clip of the movie, but it’s just Jerry Lewis acting a clown scene, and some of his directing moments.
      If he played it like the script portrays the clown – I can see Jerry Lewis being perfect, just from the way he looks in the clip. But the stories said it’s not like that.
      BUT… how do we know if the stories are true if hardly anyone has ever seen it?
      … dun dun duuuunnnnn…. conspiracy theory! hahaha!

      Like

  • Tell me what you think...

