Something Borrowed, Something Blue – something old, someone kill me and stop this madness!

Published July 4, 2014 by Shadow Girl

Something Blue (Darcy & Rachel, #2)Something Blue by Emily Giffin

I cannot remember a lot of the second book in this series by Emily Griffin. I’m not going to rate it right now, because I don’t believe I’d be giving it a fair shot.
I DO know that I was pissed while reading SOMETHING BORROWED, (the first book), because it’s on TV right now and it all came flooding back to me!
Darcy & Rachel are magnified versions of polar opposite personality types, and I despise them both. I’m not sure which one the author wanted the reader to sympathize with – the mousey friend who had her crush stolen by her best friend, only to sleep with him right before their wedding, OR the popular and perfect one, who always demands to be the center of attention, who’s fiancé is cheating on her with her best friend, but she ends up knocked up by another man right before her own wedding.
And, that’s just the first book!
This one just takes on more of the same spoiled, self centered behavior from everyone involved. I can’t handle the drama. I kept wishing for a chainsaw wielding maniac to burst through MY door, and put me out of my misery.
This movie is trying to paint Rachel as the victim, even though she’s screwing her best friend’s fiancé. AND… and not one second has wasted on the fact that said fiancé is a cheating douche bag – not in the movie, or the book! Nope. No blame there.

So… if you’re into these kinds of books, grab a pint of Ben & Jerrys and indulge in a guilty pleasure this summer. Although, without any redeeming bodice ripping scenes, you might end up calling your best friend to provoke an argument – just to relieve your frustrations!

#FF:
These books were given to me as a gift from my mother-in-law, (who knows I’m a horror junkie), and I remember laughing with my husband while reading the synopsis and dissecting her motives.

#FF2:
The Salt & Peppa PUSH IT scene, (the movie not the book), deserves a shout-out – but it would have been funner if they’d been in their underwear instead of sweats 😉 Cameron Diez would have danced in her panties, so… BOO to this actor who’s name has fled from my memory… (she’s Goldie Hawn’s daughter).

Tell me what you think...

