TRAPPED by Jack Kilborn

Published June 13, 2014 by Shadow Girl

TrappedTrapped by Jack Kilborn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m not a big camper. Whenever I had to go camping with my ex, I always pondered the term ‘Happy Camper’. Have you ever seen one? I’ve never smelled one, either.
Throw a troubled & unlawful childhood into my file – and I could have been in this story. Pissed off, city dwelling, and detained kids – forced on a camping trip by their sponsors, soon find out that forced camping* isn’t the worst thing that could happen to them.
*I use the term FORCED CAMPING in the literal sense, as opposed to homelessness.

My favorite thing is that it’s a Michigan backdrop, but that could be a least favorite thing, too. Just because the story surrounded troubled kids doesn’t mean they had to be from Detroit :p Just teasing! REALLY!
It is a story, with good characters, and, a great twisty sub-plot.
I don’t know what the problem is… maybe just timing… But I just wasn’t feelin’ it. I’ll keep it at a four star instead of taking it down, because I don’t want to penalize the author if it was just a me thing.
I’ll reread it sometime, and reevaluate. 🙂

TO FANS OF KILBORN, AND THIS SERIES – Question…
I have to read the stories of the characters I met in the Serial series – is the beginning and introduction of one of the most intriguing serial killers?
If it turns out that ‘YES’, this is indeed that Luther… then I’ll be a little disappointed – with an explanation. But, only a little. I still want to read the books in between this and Serial / Birds of Prey.

View all my reviews

Tell me what you think...

