Kumquat – coming soon from Jeff Strand

Published June 9, 2014 by Shadow Girl
Cover art hasn't been released - so THIS is what KUMQUATS look like.

Cover art hasn’t been released – so THIS is what KUMQUATS look like.

Hey! Let me break in for a mo’ here… the REAL cover art has been released 😀 Take a look – much nicer than my fruit pic! Haha!

kumquat600x900

I didn’t know what to expect from Kumquat – but, after Kathy introduced me to Jeff Strand via Dead Clown BBQ, I was hooked, and already penciling in stalking appointments, ahem… I mean sorting my TBR to include all the new titles I need. Naturally, I jumped at the chance to preview it!
Jeff described KUMQUAT as “generally lighthearted romantic comedy and not much like anything in DEAD CLOWN BBQ” – and still… didn’t know what to expect.
A Rom-Com from a horror author?
Admittedly, he’s a horror author who cracks me up, (so you know that he must be a little twisted), but, no horror?
Well, I don’t know why I don’t read more of this genre! Maybe I will if Jeff Strand writes more of them!

KUMQUAT is the story of Todd & Amy.
It’s told through Todd’s POV, and I felt an immediate connection with him. I felt a smirk forming on page one, while Todd is having a hypochondriacal moment and describing his symptoms to his roommate. Craig is reacting like a laid-back, smart-ass WebMD – and I love this character already, too!
It’s the weekend of the first annual Tampa Bay Filmmakers To Watch Film Festival, (Florida’s Sundance). Armed with his All Access Pass and a backpack loaded with today’s schedule, and two days worth of snacks, Todd is prepared for hours of entertainment! Midway through his second ass-numbing movie of the morning, he gets to meet Amy – and an instant connection is made through witty banter and Red Vines.
When Todd and Amy decide to take a break from the festival and get some real food, they have a lightning fast, and intense ‘getting to know you’ session that leads to them packing their bags for a frivolous three day trip to Rhode Island!
I went on an emotional roller coaster ride from start to finish – one minute a chuckle – the next minute I’m wiping something wet off my cheeks (cheek sweat). I was audibly laughing throughout, and even let a couple cackles, and one guffaw, slip out.
I have to mention Craig again, because even though he doesn’t have a huge roll in the story – he’s really a true friend to Todd. I thought he would play out as just an annoying, and oversexed roommate. He IS that, but he’s adorably annoying! He stood out to me, and I like him.
I had happy tears, and devastating tears. (Nope. No PMS. Jeff’s just that damned good!)

"Nobody can be in a bad mood when they're eating a hot dog!"

“Nobody can be in a bad mood when they’re eating a hot dog!”

DETAILS!!
Much respect must be given to the author!
The amount of time and effort that was put into the details has to be recognized.
The story’s must-watch TV show, EXIT RED, has a Dr. Who feel to it, and I wonder if we’ll get a closer look. Jeff put a lot of work into creating a fictional show that I WANT TO SEE!!
There was a movie shown at the film fest, WRETCHED EXCESS, that Todd thought very highly of. I wonder if it is based on a real film, or maybe a story idea?
A nod to the documentary about Africa, and starving, legless children. Todd’s internal dialogue, and OMG the dog! See… DETAILS! The little things make a HUGE impact!

JeffStrandExitRedLOGO

About Jeff Strand:
Author of a bunch of demented books, including PRESSURE, DWELLER, A BAD DAY FOR VOODOO, WOLF HUNT, SINGLE WHITE PSYCHOPATH SEEKS SAME, BENJAMIN’S PARASITE, FANGBOY, THE SINISTER MR. CORPSE, and lots of others. Three-time Bram Stoker Award finalist. Three-time Bram Stoker Award loser. Four-time Bram Stoker Award Master of Ceremonies.

Other Titles from Jeff Strand
GLEEFULLY MACABRE Jeff Strand on WordPress
Follow @JeffStrand on TWITTER
Don’t forget FACEBOOK

2 comments on “Kumquat – coming soon from Jeff Strand

  • Tell me what you think...

