I’m Not Sam by Ketchum & McKee

Published June 9, 2014 by Shadow Girl

I'm Not SamI’m Not Sam by Jack Ketchum

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This has been on my Must Read list for a while.
Now, I’m going to mark it as one that needs to be read again, to give it another chance.

It’s told from the husband’s POV. After a pretty enthusiastic night with his wife, Sam, he wakes up to find her naked, terrified, and not herself. She says her name is Lily, and although she’s speaking from a fully developed woman’s body, Lily is only five years old.

I was immersed in Patrick’s world, and could feel all his emotions in my gut – the early feelings of loss were quickly replaced with pangs of guilty embarrassment when they were in public, to confusion & shame when his body recognized the familiarity of his wife’s form on a child.
I appreciate the reason that the story ends as it does, but I would’ve liked a little bit more… something. It was a little abrupt, and I was left wanting. The additional bit at the end is Sam’s POV. Take the author’s advice – Let some time pass before reading it. (I didn’t.)
I hate the 3/5 rating, so it’s going on the Read Again list.

Visit Jack Ketchum’s International Official Website

More Reviews on Goodreads and on Cover to Cover

Tell me what you think...

