‘A Taste Of Darkness’ – Read by Chantal Noordeloos

Published May 19, 2014 by Shadow Girl

I listen to books/stories all the time. There is too much time not being utilized throughout the day – so I pop in my earbuds whenever I get the chance.
Some I hear through a tts synthesizer, (IMO, Ivona has one of the best tts programs), and others I’ve downloaded off of Audible, or author websites. Podcasts are great, too.
Some have professional narration, sound effects, and music – tons of money poured into getting things ‘just right‘. *[Choosing from all I’ve heard, I’d bet that Stephen King’s NEEDFUL THINGS was the one that cost the most to produce – Read/Recorded by King himself.]
YouTube is home to a billion and forty two videos of people reading short stories, excerpts from longer stories, and even poetry. NONE have effected me like this one.*¹

This reading of ‘A Taste of Darkness‘, [one of the stories in the Horror collection ‘Deeply Twisted’] is by the author. Chantal Noordeloos put on her Author Hat/(Coyote Hat), and recorded her story with as much heart & emotion as she put into writing it. We’re hearing it told the way it was written, and the effect is chilling. I’ve seen a lot of authors, (on YouTube), that cannot pull this off – speaking in a monotone voice, and never looking away from the monitor, they sound like Ben Stein. Chantal gave me goose bumps.
Chantal is not merely a writer/author- she’s a storyteller.
If I ever win the lottery, I’m going to ask her to record all my books!
I think that listening to her read this story made me appreciate it more, and it upped the creepiness levels! There is so much that I’d like to say, so many feels that I’d like to express – but, I won’t.
Watch this video – do it!

*¹ – I want to mention the fact that although I’m friends with the author online, it had no impact on how I feel about this story, or her telling of it. In fact, how I gush in this post is a little embarrassing – maybe she won’t see it >.<

Tell me what you think...

