ASBO: A Novel of Extreme Terror by Iain Rob Wright

Published April 16, 2014 by Shadow Girl

Oh, Man! This one made me crazy!

Tap the cover to go to AmazonLand

Amazon synopsis:

YOUR FEAR IS THEIR ENTERTAINMENT…
Andrew’s life is one of bored contentedness: a teenage daughter, a faithful wife, and a middle-class job. He even has a Mercedes. His life is without drama, and the comfort of middle-age is setting in.

That all changes when he refuses to buy a pack of cigarettes for the local gang of youths. Led by the emotionally unstable, and sadistic, Frankie, the gang target Andrew and his family in an escalating campaign of terror and violence that threatens their very lives. It isn’t long before Andrew starts to wish that he’d just brought those damn cigarettes.

Sorry I haven’t posted the review, I read this last September – one of those things on my list. A proper review.
Andrew is just a regular Joe. He’s married, has a teenaged daughter, normal job – a pretty good life.
One particular nice evening, he decides to walk over to grab some take-out for dinner. He sees a group of young guys between him & his destination, but decides to just walk on by instead of taking a different route. Mistake.
Big mistake.
Things go from bad to worse, and the author makes everything seem so plausible! (Remember, I’m from Detroit! Haha 😀 ) Really, this one just made me… angry, scared, pissed off… ugh! Ran through the emotions.
I’ve since read others by the same author, and he’s awesome. (I recently finished SAM, and even though it’s not a favorite, it’s good.) My only issue… I wish I’d have read it before I read HOUSEMATES. I bought that one on the day it was released, on it’s synopsis alone. (Well, that and Matt released a SS in it, haha. Really, I’m kidding on that, because it sounded awesome). HOUSEMATES kicked so much ass, but it’s much more violent & disturbing – so ABSO would have seemed just that much better if I’d read it first. Just my opinion.
Got an ereader? In our Free Horror Books group on Facebook? Check your library, ASBO went on sale a couple times – you might have it already. If not, $2.99 is a great price. It includes a bonus short story, too.
BTW… I think the Order should be Disorder – ( The American in me :)) The book defines it as…
Anti-Social Behaviour Order (ASBO): Issued in response to “conduct which caused or was likely to cause harm, harassment, alarm, or distress, to one or more persons not of the same household as him or herself and where an ASBO is seen as necessary to protect relevant persons from further anti-social acts by the Defendant.

Tell me what you think...

