SURVIVOR by J.F. Gonzalez

Published June 26, 2013 by Shadow Girl

BEFORE HOSTEL…BEFORE SAW..THERE WAS SURVIVOR

From the Back Cover
It is supposed to be a romantic weekend getaway. Lisa is looking forward to spending time alone with her husband—and telling him that they are going to have a baby. Instead, it becomes a nightmare when her husband is arrested and Lisa is kidnapped. But the kidnappers aren’t asking for ransom. They want Lisa herself. They’re going to make her a star—in a snuff film.
What they have in mind for Lisa is unspeakable. They plan to torture and murder her as graphically and brutally as possible, and to capture it all on film. If they have their way, Lisa’s death will be truly horrifying…but even more horrifying is what Lisa will do to survive.…

I was trying to save this as my ‘back-up’ book. The one I listen to on my way to work, and home from work. Then, I started reading on my lunch break. Pretty soon, it was all I was doing. Reading or listening to SURVIVOR by J.F. Gonzalez
You guys know I have a sick/twizted streak in me, and this book pushed my limits.
Walking to work & listening to the first chapter…
It’s a beautiful day, I’m walking along & smiling while listening about this young girl who is sneaking off to see her forbidden love before her parents get home from work. Aww. I get a little surprise when I realize who she’s sneaking off to see, but, a good surprise. Then… I start getting uncomfortable. Take a drink of my Mountain Dew, light a cigarette. It’s getting worse. I actually stopped walking, made an audible noise – someone looked at me, haha – almost gagged, then was a minute or two late punching in for work because I had to finish that section.

The story is about a young couple, Lisa & Brad, who are off to have a nice, and well deserved vacation. Lisa also has some exciting news to surprise her husband with! But, they never get their vacation. Something odd happens and the couple is separated from each other. While Brad is unable to help, Lisa is kidnapped and informed that she was chosen to be the staring role in a snuff film. She is taken to an isolated cabin, bound, and listening to her captor tell her about who her co-star is and about the underground hardcore extreme S&M community. Since she wasn’t familiar with the term SNUFF, the things she heard terrified her – because she is realizing that this is to be her fate. She meets her co-star, Animal, and the others involved in this project. As she is put through the torture of awaiting her fate while they put up plastic sheeting, Dexter style, and get out various equipment, something very unexpected happens and she is now sharing her cabin of horrors with another woman! Lisa is unfortunate enough to watch as this other woman is filmed first. Now she knows that no amount of talking could ever prepare her for what she just witnessed, and she also knows that this is to be her fate as well. Lisa is a fighter, though. A Survivor. And, I can’t believe the lengths she goes to – to try to survive this nightmare.
I’m not telling you anything else :p
As graphic as this story is, it’s not just about gratuitous sex and violence. There is a deep story here, full of twists and turns that you won’t see coming. It is graphic. Extremely so.

I downloaded this for free, probably an Amazon sale. But, I recommend buying it – under two STRICT conditions…
This book is really intense. Not for the squeamish.
Scenes of extreme violence, sexual violence, torture, rape, rape of things that should never be penetrated (eye sockets, gaping wounds, etc. I don’t want to post spoilers). There is some talk of animal torture, a flash-back of a horrible bunny death that’s pretty graphic, but… not too much of the animal stuff. The flash-back sets the stage, so just some mentions of this type of behavior are made. Umm…what else… minor drug references, no big. But, if you don’t think you can handle the SM/BD… don’t use this book to gauge your tolerance. Graphic. One horror author told me he had to stop reading at a certain point because it disturbed him so much. A different horror author told me she loved it. Six of one, ya know?
The other thing, this book needs an editor. In the worst way. Grammatical errors are not the issue, it’s spelling. I’ve never picked up any book that was this bad. I truly believe the authors keyboard could not make a capital ‘I’, because in most cases, the number 1 was used. There was one ‘/’, and other things. Detective Orr was only Detective Orr half the time, or less. It became Detective On, SUV was typically SW. Things like that are examples of what you need to be aware of.
I think the story was good enough to not lose points for that.
Most people I know WON’T be able to deal.
Joy Killar, Hon, your head will explode. You’ve wanted to hurt writers for comma abuse, don’t open this story unless you’re prepared to edit it – cuz I know that’s exactly what you’d do! (Love you!)
Consider these 2 things, if you can handle both, then please, read this book! And… let’s talk about it!! Tell me what you thought!! We can private chat about it if you want to discuss spoilers 🙂 This is the only thing I’ve read by J.F. Gonzalez, but… I don’t want to get on his bad side!!

2 comments on “SURVIVOR by J.F. Gonzalez

  • UPDATE:
    UNTIL I CAN EDIT THIS POST… apologies to J.F. and to my readers. I was just informed that the mistakes occurred during uploading, his edits are professional & perfect.
    I’m sorry!! Truely. That happened with my True Blood books, too.

    Like

  • Tell me what you think...

