Students struggle to understand school suicide

Published March 22, 2013 by Shadow Girl

Yet another child has succumbed to the overwhelming weight of the burdens no thirteen year old should even be aware of. My heart is breaking. No, I did not know him personally, but I have friends who did. Friends with kids of their own who knew & loved the deceased, and are trying to deal with the WHY. And, this happened in my own backyard.

Students struggle to understand school suicide

via Students struggle to understand school suicide.

I’ve been an advocate of suicide since I was thirteen myself. Having lost my mother at the same age as the victim. I’ve lost friends of all ages. I’ve almost lost myself. But – that’s not why I’m writing this. It’s about the children. Kids who should be playing sports, experiencing their first love, looking forward to Spring Break… childhood things. Kids who are being bullied, tortured and teased, beaten up and beaten down. What can we do? What can I do? Not too long ago, I watched a youtube video that a young girl made – a cry for help. She couldn’t even wait for the help to come. I’ve shed so many tears, for children I’ll never know. For lives that will never be lived. Hearts that will never be broken by a teen crush – because they’ve been broken by bullies. What can we do?

What can we do? Were you ever bullied when you were a kid? I was. Tell someone? Not me. If I would have told someone – things would have gotten worse! Not only a freak, but a tattle-tale, too! Worse bullying would have followed. But – things were different then. A bully was a bully. These days, with social media, bullying has become an art form. Gone are the days of people talking shit behind your back. Now, it’s happening in real time – live & in color. “She can’t even kill herself right! What a loser!” Holy Fuck – 342 people ‘liked’ that post! See where I’m going? I don’t have any answers. But, this is my Blog – and, tonight… I just need to vent.

I’ve found some statistics. “Twelve Facts About Bullying”. They are…
1. Over 3.2 million students are victims of bullying each year.
2. 1 in 4 teachers see nothing wrong with bullying and will only intervene 4 percent of the time.
3. Approximately 160,000 teens skip school every day because of bullying.
4. 1 in 7 students in grades K-12 is either a bully or a victim of bullying.
5. 56 percent of students have personally witnessed some type of bullying at school.
6. Over two-thirds of students believe that schools respond poorly to bullying, with a high percentage of students believing that adult help is infrequent and ineffective.
7. 71 percent of students report incidents of bullying as a problem at their school.
8. 90 percent of 4th through 8th graders report being victims of bullying.
9. 1 out 10 students drop out of school because of repeated bullying.
10. Harassment and bullying have been linked to 75 percent of school-shooting incidents.
11. Physical bullying increases in elementary school, peaks in middle school and declines in high school. Verbal abuse, on the other hand, remains constant.
12. A 2009 survey found that 9 out of 10 LGBT youth reported being verbally harassed at school in the past year because of their sexual orientation.

Like I said, I don’t know the answers. But, maybe I’ve raised some awareness.
I’m going to go call my son. Just to tell him I love him.

2 comments on “Students struggle to understand school suicide

  • All you can do is what you’ve done. You can do no more.
    The bullied will either find their shelter, or they won’t, but to give them a safe haven for the short time they choose to look for it is a great gift indeed.
    Keep on being, and hopefully you can help even one.

    I am a former bullied and you brighten my day, I know that doesn’t mean much, but it’s allI’ve got to give.

    Like

  • Tell me what you think...

